My Lucky Belt

I like when conventional wisdom works in my favor.

Just last night there was a discussion on channel about kernite locations.  We were ticking off systems that seemed to be mined out when the system I was in was mentioned.  I was there and staring at some kernite.

Not a lot, mind you, but enough to be worth the trip out to harvest it.

The rest of the system was probably mined out, but here in my “lucky” belt, there was some kernite to be had.  And at the going rate of 250-400 ISK per unit, you don’t need a lot to make it worth your time.

And where is my “lucky” belt?

My “lucky” belt exists in any system with lots of asteroid belt.  It is always the first belt on the list.

Conventional wisdom seems to dictate that everybody will go down the list from top to bottom, so people just skip past that first belt.

I, on the other hand, always go to that belt first, and I am usually rewarded for my effort.

Of course, now that I have posted this, a few people will now probably start checking that first belt.

I might have to find a new “lucky” belt.

This is a problem you never have with ice mining.  I have never seen an ice belt not brimming with ice.

6 thoughts on “My Lucky Belt

  1. Tom

    People who are afraid of gankers usually avoid first belts. When a suicide ganker comes into system he heads for the first belt for a target. If your watching local it gives you more time to align out.

    Like

  2. Wilhelm2451 Post author

    I have to think that the “hiding from suicide gankers” idea, while possible, is not likely to be effective. Assuming that such gankers are methodical agents of anarchy, they are still going to end up in your belt sooner or later.

    Still, an interesting theory. I’ll be sure to do a post should I get zeroed out while in the first belt on the list.

    Like

  3. Kename

    I have a lucky belt or two. For me it’s the one with all the roids spread out in a very non geometrical pattern. It’s more Rorschach asteroid blot than semi-circular belt. The upside is that people tend to leave it alone as it takes more effort to make sense of what is in the belt.

    One of the things that makes it really good is that the belt is easily broken down into 4 distinct “regions” where you can access everything in the belt. Each of these is bookmarked so as to allow maximum coverage for my strip miners.

    Like

  4. Sara Pickell

    High sec mining… no real clue why.
    Low/0.0 sec mining, yeah I don’t want to be in the easy spots. Top bottom, exact middle, good spots to have a roving gang jump straight to you. Chances are they can get 360 sensor read on you from one of those belts if you’re too slow at moving out so it’s more useful than scatter-shotting random belts and praying.
    And even with gankers, bit of a difference in survivability between “eventually” and “instantly”. Every belt they go through increases the odds they’ll find some other poor sot, even if only by fractions of a percent.
    BUT, if this lets you make a good profit, then, hey, that’s how risk v. reward works.

    Like

  5. Wilhelm2451 Post author

    This illustrates one of the great strengths of EVE, the fact that even a simple statement like “I mine in the first belt” brings up a discussion of strategy and philosophy.

    Like

Comments are closed.