Ain’t No Cure for the Summertime MMO Ennui Blues

Theoretically, this should be an exciting time for MMOs for me.

Blizzard finally gave us the WoW 6.2 patch, bringing us a new zone and opening up flying in Draenor.  Daybreak has the EverQuest time locked progression server thing running, and it is more popular than ever.  They are also warming up an EverQuest II version of the same, which could be interesting.  There is a new update dropping for EVE Online next week and then the final round of Fozzie Sov changes the following week, which should liven things up.

And yet, I am not really feeling it right now.

The 6.2 patch in WoW, far from bringing me back into the game, seemed to tip the balance the other way.  I had been in something of a garrison and pet battle holding pattern for ages, and then 6.2 hit and I stopped logging in altogether.

There was the momentary shock of the Master Plan addon breaking.  Really, doing garrison missions without that makes the whole thing such a chore that I didn’t bother trying.  And even when the addon was fixed a day later I didn’t bother.  Garrisons kept me going for a bit, but they are also my undoing in the end.  (The death of the easy-money gray trash from the salvage yard didn’t help either.)

I think, perhaps, that the two year straight run with WoW might mean it is time for a break.  Blizz has said that 6.2 is it for the expansion, so the whole game will be in something of a holding pattern until BlizzCon, at which point they will likely announce the next expansion.  We’ll see if Blizz can wait that long.  I suspect that the Q2 2015 results, which ought to be announced in August, will show another sharp decline in subscribers.

On the EverQuest side of things, I am just not feeling it.  For all the nostalgia I feel for the game, I might not be in the right state of mind for another round of bandit camping in West Karana, undead in Unrest, and whatever else.  I am glad it is going on, I am enjoying watching from the sidelines, but I just don’t log in.

I fear the same might be true for the EverQuest II nostalgia servers.  I am not entirely happy with the name choices.

Deathtoll seems just a bit too cute for the PvP server.  And, while Stormhold would have been my first choice for the PvE server had Isle of Refuge not been on the list, I am somewhat shocked that Isle of Refuge didn’t win.  It was the runaway favorite in the nominations.  I don’t want to go all Daybreak vote rigging conspiracy theory on this, but I seriously thought Isle of Refuge winning was pretty much a given.  But, Stormhold it is I guess.

Stormhold, in Antonica

Stormhold, in Antonica

There is the promise of more polls to come for the EverQuest II time locked expansion server, along with a beta promised for next week, though I have to wonder how Daybreak is feeling about polls now given the seeming “ain’t nobody happy” compromise around the Ruins of Kunark unlock vote.

And then there is EVE Online.  I suppose that EVE doesn’t really count, as boredom and finding it difficult to log in is the normal state of affairs for me with the game.  Then something will happen… a war, a deployment, a new fleet doctrine… that will lead to the moments of excitement that make the hours or boredom worthwhile.

All of which has added up to me mostly playing Minecraft every evening when I have some time.  So you can probably expect more “letters from those late to the party” posts about the game going forward.

4 thoughts on “Ain’t No Cure for the Summertime MMO Ennui Blues

  1. Gripper

    I am in the same boat, havent logged into Wow – not feeling anything currently. Trying to get back into EQ2 so I have some remembrance of what did what when I start the TLE servers. Think I may just pick away at D3 some – downloaded World of Warships, didnt do it for me either. Tried Albion online, same thing. Not sure what the deal is just sort of blah about things currently. Hoping Crowfall really makes things happen!

    Like

  2. bhagpuss

    The recent GW2 mega-patch really revived my interest but right now it’s Villagers and Heroes that really grabs me, even though I only play it a fraction as much as GW2. My Wizard is Level 11 now and right at the end of what I think must be the intro section of the main storyline. I’m really curious to see what comes next. The mechanics of the actual gameplay (solo at least) require a lot more attention and old-school sneaking past mobs/invising/EQ-style pulling than most recent MMOs too, which is very appealing.

    I’m a tad wary of a summer of blogging about an MMO no-one but me plays, though.

    Like

  3. Pingback: WoW Raiding Done for WoD | Leo's Life

  4. sleepysam

    I was waiting to see if your reaction to 6.2 was the same as mine, and it was. Just tired of playing wow as a mobile mini game, rep grind, and pet collector. Planning to give FFXIV a shot when the locked servers open up again.

    Like

Comments are closed.