Daily Archives: November 28, 2006

The Official SOE Podcast #9

Alan “Brenlo” Crosby, Christina “Kytherea” Delzer and Aimee “Ashlanne” Rekoske host this show with Jason “Pex” Ryan reading a big news segment. 

Topics Include:

-Thanksgiving and Brenlo’s cornbread stuffing
-Upcoming EverQuest revamps to the Ocean of Tears and the Commonlands
-Interview with EverQuest Lead Designer Travis “Rashere” McGeathy and Game Designer Jason “Maddoc” Mash
-The EoF Launch
-SWG: In Concept stuff
-Interview with Mr. Bubble from the Yivvits and Mr. Bbubble Podcast
-PS3 – ULDK Launch
Lore Sjöberg’s Wired Article – Complainers of the World Unite
-What are you playing?

The show was recorded on November 20th, 2006 and runs 1 hour and 28 minutes.  Show notes are now in the same forum posting as the links to the show.  You can get the podcast via iTunes or here.

Portal to the Commonlands

I was in the bank in Kelethin when somebody put up a portal behind me.  I turned around and saw this sitting there and went “Cool!”   

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

I sat there for a moment then thought, “I should jump in!”

Then I figured that would be a bad idea.  Level 15, alone, outside of Freeport… not a good prospect for a young fae.  Plus I want to explore the new zones, not re-run the old ones. (I have been tempted though.  I know those quests!)

Somebody who plays World of Warcraft is going to look at this and think, “Eh, looks like a portal in WoW.”

 It doesn’t.  It looks a much cooler.  It is very pretty.

Of course, five of these in a small area would probably kill your frame rate, but one was okay and very nice to look at.  I almost didn’t get the screen shot I was so busy just admiring the portal.