Daily Archives: December 20, 2011

Monitors, Mumble, and Mittaningrad

I think I had an authentic null sec experience last night in EVE Online.

I was logged on for a couple of hours and didn’t get to shoot a single thing.

Not that I did not have things to do in the game.  I was still getting things configured, making sure I had channels visible in their own windows, installing the standard set of Goon provided overviews, getting on the right Goon comm channels, and tinkering with ships and training.

At one point I had commented that I was going to need a bigger monitor with all of these things on screen, at which point Gaff said that you can play EVE without seeing space.

Picture me with big, glassy wet eyes, a tear rolling down my cheek, say, “Not… see… space?”

Space is one of the bits of EVE I love the most, the feeling of being in space, of being a small ship, insignificant against the backdrop of infinity.

Well, I have mapped the UI toggle to an easy key combo, so I can glimpse space without obstructions when I have the chance.  I have, after all, built up a whole blog dedicated to looking at EVE.

I did not have much to see in any case at that point, as I was working on getting plugged into the right communication network with yet another commo app, Mumble.

There was a fleet op going on, but I just missed it.  The fleet was set to leave about the time I logged in and there was no was I was going to catch up, not the way I navigate at the moment.

I am pretty lost out there.  I thought odd-ball names in Caldari space like Uosusuokko were tough to remember.  Null sec was named by the Cat in the Hat in the scene from the animated TV version where he and Thing 1 and Thing 2 are conducting their search.

“We’ll name this system RP-3T9!”

“And this adjacent one?”

“Call that one WT0-159!”

Or so it seems to me at the moment.

So I lean on Gaff… a lot.

“How do I get back to where we were yesterday?” I asked, “I want to get to my PvP Drake.”

He’ll link me a nice map.  But I don’t remember the name of the system we were in.  Plus there was a jump bridge in there somewhere, and that isn’t on the map… and I don’t remember what system that was in either.  (Or how to use it, for that matter.  That took me a minute.)

And so he had to spoon feed me directions… again.

So I did not make it to the Op, but I was able to tune in and listen.  Comms for the op were amusing.  I managed to get on the right channel and did not disgrace myself or my corp with microphone issues.  I just quietly listened.

It did not sound like anybody on the op was getting to shoot all that much either.  The opposing alliance appeared to have completely missed the whole State of the Goonion broadcast, which was up on the web moments after it was finished, and in which The Mittani clearly stated who we were going after along with when and where.  The OPFOR also seemed somewhat indignant about the Goons bringing super caps to an operation after The Mittani was so much in favor of the super cap nerf that came with the Crucible expansion.

As I was listening, I eventually made it to my PvP Drake, which was parked in the station named “Mittaningrad.”  I got it out, imported overviews, loaded up ammo, and got myself into position to join any additional wave that might be headed out to join the op.  There was a rumor of such at one point.

Outside Mittanigrad – UI Turned Off!

The follow-on wave never materialized and the op broke up as people on the East coast decided it was time for bed.  There was another op scheduled a half an hour later, so I stayed online, listening to comms, while paying bills and doing other administrative items at home.

Then it turned out that the fleet that was forming really wasn’t suited for a Drake, or so I understood, and probably wasn’t a good place for noobs in any case.  So  I called it a night at that point and went and played something else for a while before going to bed.

This morning my time and during the peak time for European players, there was a giant battle.  I hear we won.

I wonder what will be going on tonight.

World of Warplanes Reveals Some American Planes

Wargaming.net’s press release this morning, and they have a press release every week at a minimum, was all about World of Warplanes.

World of Warplanes Unveils USA Aircraft

Initial American Tech Tree Revealed

London, UK, Paris, FR and San Francisco, CA (20th December, 2011) — Wargaming.net, the award-winning videogame publisher and developer, is proud to introduce the initial tech tree of the American warbirds for its anticipated aerial action MMO World of Warplanes. The line of aircraft will be available with the game’s release and will feature two warplane branches to explore.

Along with the American line, World of Warplanes, now in its Closed Alpha stage, will feature the German and Soviet tiers upon its release scheduled for 2012. The first iteration of the American tech tree will feature a line of light fighters together with the unique branch of carrier fighters not available for other nations. Among others, players will be able to test the famous models including the F4U Corsair, the F4F Wildcat, the P-51 Mustang, and the F-86A Sabre.

“We are proud to reveal the initial American tech tree,” said Victor Kislyi, Wargaming.net CEO. “Throughout the course of WWII, the US planes proved to be extremely powerful and efficient machines, and we could not but include them into the primary stack of World of Warplanes nations.”

Find more about World of Warplanes at:

http://www.worldofwarplanes.com/

About World of Warplanes

World of Warplanes is the flight combat MMO action game set in the Golden Age of military aviation. The game continues the armored warfare theme marked in the highly-acclaimed World of Tanks and will throw players into a never-ending tussle for air dominance.

World of Warplanes will allow players to build full-scale careers as virtual pilots offering machines from several key eras, from1930’s biplanes to the Korean War jet fighters that led the way to modern air forces.

World of Warplanes will feature a wide range of warbirds, each of them unique in their effectiveness and behavior. Virtual pilots will choose from three main warplane classes – single-engine light fighters capable of engaging enemies in close dogfights, heavy fighters with their deadly straight attacks, and strafing aircrafts, the fearsome threat to ground targets.

Every plane will feature multiple variations of ammo types, engines, and other crucial modules, and their various combinations will allow players to pick the optimal configuration for the most effective behavior in combat.

The initial American tree looks a bit sparse.

Initial American Tree

Granted, the World of Tanks trees looked pretty sparse when they were initially announced as well.  Now however, after a year of work, there are an amazing number of tanks in game.  So I expect this will fill out as well.

I do have to wonder what a jet-powered P-51 will look like, and why they chose that.

Oddly, they included a set of pictures of the American P-39, which is not on the tree at the moment.

P-39 - Maybe on the Russian Tree

They did include some nice pictures of the Boeing P-12 as well, though I have never seen a picture of one painted as such. (I did see one at the USAF Museum once.)  And this plane is on the tree and belongs there.

Boeing P-12

Given how much fun World of Tanks has ended up being, I am interested to see how World of Warplanes develops.  I do wonder how they will deal with controls and if flight sticks and the like will become a serious differentiator among players.